top of page

Finding my Style

Throughout the four months, I had the opportunity to try out photography and photograph many different places in Singapore.


One of the learning that I took away (without attempting to, so more like second-hand learning) is I was able to find my preferable style.


Prior to starting this project, I did have a small goal to find my own photography style, but I didn't make it an important goal, and it was rather forgotten throughout my project. However, as I take the time to edit my pictures for my Instagram page (@hiddenplaces_sg), I've started to have a clear preference for the pictures and editing techniques.


As for pictures, I am the type to really enjoy close-up pictures, ones that are very easy to play around with depth of field. This is why compared to my pictures of far away shots, I prefer to take more close up pictures, as it is easier to play around with angling and it feels more "artistic" to me.


As for editing, I realized that I have a clear, set preference for pictures with very defined colors and lines. For example, in this picture of the Victoria Theatre, I make the lines very distinct and make sure the colors are able to be seen compared to the original picture (right).


Edited
Original

I've also used the normal photo editing settings that are directly available in the Apple Photos app, which proves to me that I did not need to invest in a professional editing app, since Apple editing settings seemed to satisfy my certain style already.



Here is a gallery of pictures that show the original and edited pictures!

Original slide show will be first, and the slideshow below are the edited versions.




As you can see, I really prefer styles that show contrast among colors as well as emphasize "black points" and makes lines and shapes very distinct!

5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page