top of page

Field of Depth

Updated: Nov 14, 2019

From my first round of shots, I’ve mainly started to play around with depth of field. Although I managed to play around with the three main different parts of photography, I wanted to make conclusions about what I’ve learnt from depth of field. I found that I played around with depth of field the most, since I believe it can portray my pictures very differently.

Here is a comparison of two shots of depth of field.























Compared to the second picture, the depth of field of the first picture is more focused and portrays the smoke of the incense sticks. This also made me realize how depth of field can portray an object differently. To me, the second picture is pretty pointless: the back gold wall is in focus, which serves no point. The incense sticks are also out of focus, making this picture pretty boring and pointless to look at. However, in the first picture, I think it shows more purpose. I the incense sticks are in focus, and I tried to capture the picture when most of the smoke was coming out and blowing. This also helped me capture the smoke as well, hopefully showing one of the customs of this temple. While depth of field is fun to play around with, and can change a picture’s focus and composition, I also need to make sure its appropriate to use in certain images I am trying to capture.




6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page